South Carolina qualifies for New York’s COVID-19 travel advisory list

South Carolina is one of 43 states and two U.S. territories that now qualify for New York’s COVID-19 travel advisory list.

“We are now in a situation where 43 states meet the criteria for our travel advisory. This is really a bizarre outcome, considering New York once had the highest infection rate,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said during a conference call with reporters Tuesday morning.

Cuomo said the state is planning to meet with officials from each state to offer aid. The governor said he is also discouraging non-essential travel between the states.

New York’s red zone downstate is down to an infection rate of 2.9%. With this red zone oversampling, the state’s overall infection rate is 1.3%. Without it, the overall rate is 1.2% 

Regional breakdowns are as follows:

  • New York City: 1.3%
  • Capital: 0.8%
  • Central NY: 2.1%
  • Finger Lakes: 1.4%
  • Long Island: 0.9%
  • Mid-Hudson: 1.7%
  • Mohawk Valley: 0.4%
  • North Country: 1.3%
  • Southern Tier: 1.8%
  • Western NY: 1.2%

The governor said Central New York’s number is being impacted by a 7% infection rate in Cortland County, which stems from a microcluster at a SUNY school. He said the state is addressing that microcluster, and that citizens should be prepared for such micro clusters to continue throughout the fall.

Meanwhile, the governor extended the state’s commercial eviction moratorium to January 1, to match its moratorium on residential evictions amid COVID-19.

During Tuesday’s conference call, Cuomo also criticized President Donald Trump on a number of fronts related to COVID-19, including the president’s criticism of Dr. Anthony Fauci and how New York handled the pandemic.

“I hold Donald Trump responsible for every death in New York State from COVID because Trump lied,” said Cuomo. “He lied, and in combination with his lies, he was incompetent. It was his lie that said this was nothing to worry about, this was a hoax, it would be gone by Easter. It was a lie because he had the (Peter) Navarro memo and it was a lie because he told (Bob) Woodward it was a lie.”

The governor also responded to the president’s criticism of Cuomo’s new book on the COVID-19 pandemic, challenging the president to find anything “factually incorrect” in the book.

“He has not denied a single fact,” said Cuomo. “What does that say to you?”

The states included on the travel advisory list are: 

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

* WHAM Staff contributed to this article 

Source Article