Florida Added To Emergency Travel Order; Michigan Could Be Next

CHICAGO, IL — The City of Chicago is now requiring travelers from 31 states and Puerto Rico to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival, adding Florida to the list on Tuesday and warning that Michigan could be next.

Florida has been added to the city’s emergency travel order issued in July by Chicago Department of Public Health Commissioner Dr. Allison Arwady. The full list now includes Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The updated order including Florida is effective at 12:01 a.m. Friday, as coronavirus cases continue to rise across the country.

“This is the worst we are doing on COVID as a country since the beginning,” Arwady said.

Hospitalization rates prompted a new ban on indoor dining starting Wednesday in suburban Cook County.With Monday’s announcement of new measures there, and the re-imposition of restrictions on the Metro East region, Region 4, more than half of the state’s 11 COVID-19 resurgence mitigation regions will be under some form of additional resurgence mitigation.

As of Tuesday, the Illinois Department of Public Health confirmed 4,000 new cases of coronavirus and another 46 deaths, bringing the state’s death toll to 9,568.

As of Monday night, 2,758 people in Illinois were reported to be in the hospital with COVID-19. Of those, 595 patients were in the ICU and 241 patients with COVID-19 were on ventilators.

Source Article