Coronavirus Travel Advisory Grows to 41 States, PA, CT and DE Exempt

TRENTON, NJ — The state’s self-quarantine travel advisory list has reached 41 states and territories with the addition of California and Massachusetts.

As of October 27, individuals traveling to New Jersey are asked to get tested for the coronavirus and self-quarantine for 14 days if they traveled from these 39 states and two territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

While California returns to the list, it is the first time Massachusetts has been included. 

Sign Up for Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

You have successfully signed up for the TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter.

The neighboring states of Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Delaware — and New Jersey, itself — also continue to meet the criteria for New Jersey’s travel advisory. But due to the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between New Jersey and the three states, a 14-day quarantine is not reasonable in all instances, according to a press release by Gov. Phil Murphy’s office.  

Nonessential travel to and from these states, however, is highly discouraged at this time. New York and Connecticut are also discouraging nonessential travel to and from New Jersey, but are not mandating that travelers quarantine due to the interconnected nature of the region and economy. Massachusetts is included on New Jersey’s and Connecticut’s advisory, but not on the New York list.

Please note: Hawaii was removed from New Jersey’s advisory on September 15, Virgin Islands on September 8, Washington State on August 11 and the District of Columbia on August 4.

Individuals following voluntary self-quarantine should not leave their hotel or home unless they are attending to a medical matter, or need to acquire food or other essential items. 

The advisory does not apply to individuals:

  • Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Residents should consult with their employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance.

Click here for more information. 

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.

Download the free TAPinto App! Click here for Android – Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening

Source Article